Will I regret not doing it?


twenty years from now

When faced with a  decision on whether to do something or not, some people would think, “Will I regret doing it?”. I, instead, ask myself this question – “Will I regret not doing it?”

“Will I regret not buying that dress?”
“Will I regret not going to the movie?”
“Will I regret not changing my job?”
… and so on

I do not want a life of regrets when I die. And so I constantly ask myself whether I might regret not doing something till now, so that I can change it before it’s too late.

I never regret what I do. What I did was because who I was, and made me who I am, and I love who I am.

But, if there is something I really want to do, and don’t do it, it would make my life very sad. That in turn would make me cranky or secluded, hurting people who love me. So, my not doing something that I love would actually hurt both me and the people who love me. And that would fill me with regrets. The quote in the above image is one of my favourites.

I also came across a beautiful talk by Ruth Chang today. I’m sharing it below. If you are stuck with a hard choice, or even if you are not, listen to it. It will make you re-consider how you weigh your options.

Leave a Reply

