Recipe – Kewa Datshi (Bhutan)


kewa datshi

 (Image source: http://www.nameysamey.talktalk.net/tenzin/recipes/kewa.html)

 

You might remember, I created a Bucket list for this year a few months back. Now, that I am living alone, and don’t like cooking food for just me (I like cooking meals even less now that I am alone), I decided to go ahead finish my ’30 new recipes’ bucket list item. That way, I will cook my meals, and have something proper to eat for dinner.

So, today comes my first recipe: Kewa Datshi from Bhutan

I learnt this recipe from my Bhutanese friend, and I love it. The Bhutanese love cheese and chillies, and most of their dishes contain these two ingredients. This one does too. The recipe is very, very easy. Kewa Datshi is usually eaten along with rice.

Ingredients:
4 Potatoes
250g of cheese (chedar, fetta or almost any kind of white cheese)
1 tomato chopped into cubes
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp salt
Chillies – vertically cut into halves, or chopped into pieces (vary amount according to your tolerance)

Cut the potatoes into small pieces. I slice them into long, vertical pieces.
Put the potatoes, tomatoes, and chilly pieces along with some oil and salt into a saucepan or a pot.
Add 1 and 1/2 cup of water.
The water should neither be too much, nor should the dish dry up completely. Add a little water if it gets too low.
When the potatoes are cooked, add grated cheese, and turn off the heat.

Serve hot with rice.

Leave a Reply

