Recipe – Veggie fried rice


fried rice

Recipe #4 of my 30 recipe challenge. I have a bucket list item that requires me to make 30 dishes this year – that I have never made before, and that are not desserts. (preferably, main course dishes)

I thought I’d make something using the corn and peas in my fridge, and started browsing through recipes online. Then, I found a Fried rice recipe with various variations mentioned in it. So, I decided to make my own variation using stuff I had in my kitchen.

Here’s how I made it.

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked brown rice
3 tablespoons oil
2 medium size carrots (diced into small cubes)
1 cup peas
1 cup corn
1 cup overnight soaked black chickpeas
1 teaspoon ghee
half teaspoon cumin seeds
a pinch of asafoetida (hing)

Add 1 teaspoon ghee to a pan and heat. When the ghee is heated, add the cumin seeds and asafoetida. Add the soaked black chickpeas to the pan, along with water and 1 teaspoon salt, and boil it until the black chickpeas are completely cooked. Dry out the water while stirring by continuing to heat. Put aside.

In a wok or large skillet, heat 3 tablespoons oil. Add rice, some salt (according to taste), peas, corn, carrots, and the cooked black chickpeas. Stir constantly, until the ingredients are mixed up and heated through, for about 10 minutes.

If you want, you can season with soy sauce and add green onions before serving. (I skipped this last step).

One thought on “Recipe – Veggie fried rice

Leave a Reply

