Recipe – Simple Spinach Rice


Spinach!! The power food Popeye has to get his energy. Spinach is so healthy and packed with nutrients that I am planning to keep having lots and lots of it.

So, my Recipe #6 of my 30 recipe challenge is Spinach Rice. I have a bucket list item that requires me to make 30 dishes this year – that I have never made before, and that are not desserts. (preferably, main course dishes)

I made a variation of the recipe here according to the ingredients I had at hand.

Ingredients:

1 cup raw brown rice
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 fresh spinach
1/4 cup chopped parsley
Juice of 1/2 to 1 lemon, to taste
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preparation:

Put the rice into a large saucepan along with 2 1/2 cups water . Bring to a gentle boil, then lower the heat, cover, and simmer gently until the water is absorbed, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, chop the spinach finely.

Once the rice is done, add the spinach in batches, stirring in as it wilts down.
Stir the remaining ingredients into the rice and serve.

Leave a Reply

